Liverpool 1922

Liverpool FC, League Champions

Liverpool Football Club were founded in March 1892 by John Houlding, who owned the Anfield Road stadium. Everton FC were the occupants at Anfield before this date but following a disagreement with Houlding they promptly moved across Stanley Park to a new home; Goodison Park.

Houlding was left with an empty stadium and so formed Liverpool Football Club. He appointed John McKenna, an Irishman with many links in Scottish football and McKenna used his links to form a ‘squad’ of 13 players, of which 9 were Scottish.

In their first season the club won the second division championship – without losing a game! The first of 18 first division championships arrived at Anfield in season 1900-01, now under the management of Tom Watson, the team finished two points ahead of Sunderland, ironically the famous Wearside club that Watson had joined Liverpool from. Five years before that Liverpool recorded their highest ever League win when they beat Rotherham United 10-1 in the second division (Feb 18th 1896).

The Reds won their second league title in 1906, and reached their first FA Cup Final in 1914. The match was played at the old Crystal Palace ground and Liverpool lost 1-0 to Burnley, with ex-Evertonian Burt Freeman scoring the only goal.

In 1922 the third league title was secured and the following year the fourth was won, finishing 6 points clear.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment